Congressional Leadership and Committees – 2012


Leadership and Committees of the 112th Congress, 2nd Session

Also see


This information is included with the course materials at TCN’s Congressional Operations programs.

For a discussion of Party Leadership, see “Committee on Committees / Party Leaders” in the Congressional Glossary, and § 5.50 Party Leadership in the Congressional Deskbook.

House of Representatives


House Leadership

Speaker of the House
John Boehner
(R-OH) | W
born 1949, House since 1991


Majority Minority
House Republican Cloakroom
Advance Schedule: 202-225-2020
Current Proceedings: 202-225-7430
House Democratic Cloakroom
Advance Schedule: 202-225-1600
Current Proceedings: 202-225-7400
Majority Leader
Eric Cantor (R-VA) | W
born 1963, House since 2001
Minority Leader
Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) | W
born 1940, House since 1987
Majority Whip
Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) | W
born 1965, House since 2007
Minority Whip
Steny Hoyer (D-MD) | W
born 1939, House since 1981
Republican Conference Chairman
Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) | W
born 1957, House since 2003
Assistant Democratic Leader
James E. Clyburn (D-SC) | W
born 1940, House since 1993
House Republican Policy Committee

Tom Price (R-GA) | W
born 1954, House since 2005

House Republican Policy Committee

Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA) | W
born 1969, House since 2005

Democratic Caucus Chairman
John Larson (D-CT) | W
born 1948, House since 1999

Democratic Caucus Vice Chairman
Xavier Becerra (D-CA) | W
born 1958, House since 1993


 House Committees

Alphabetical listing of House members on the House of Representatives web site




Senate Leadership

President of the Senate
Vice President Joe Biden
| W
born 1942

President Pro Tempore of the Senate
(Through December 17, 2012) Daniel Inouye (D-HI) | W
1924-2012, Senate 1963-2012

(After December 17, 2012) Patrick Leahy (D-VT) | W
born 1940, Senate since 1975

Majority Minority
Senate Democratic Cloakroom: 202-224-8541 Senate Republican Cloakroom: 202-224-8601
Majority Leader
Harry Reid (D-NV) | W
born 1939, Senate since 1987
Minority Leader
Mitch McConnell (R-KY) | W
born 1942, Senate since 1985
Majority Whip
Dick Durbin (D-IL) | W
born 1944, Senate since 1997
Minority Whip
Jon Kyl (R-AZ) | W
born 1942, Senate since 1995
Democratic Caucus
Co-Chairman, Democratic Policy Committee

Charles E. Schumer (D-NY) | W
born 1950, Senate since 1999
Republican Conference

John Thune (R-SD) | W
born 1961, Senate since 2005
Democratic Conference

Democratic Senatorial Campaign
Committee Chair

Patty Murray (D-WA) | W
born 1950, Senate since 1993
Republican Policy Committee

John Barrasso (R-WY) | W
born 1952, Senate since 2007
Co-Chairman, Democratic Policy Committee
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) | W
born 1950, Senate since 2001
Republican Campaign Committee Chairman
John Cornyn (R-TX) | W
born 1952, Senate since 2002


Alphabetical listing of Senators on the U.S. Senate web site.

You may also phone the United States Capitol switchboard, 202-224-3121, and an operator will connect you directly with the Senate office you request.


Online Congressional Directories

  • On the web, member directories are here: HouseSenate



Quick DC Links – Washington Essentials





For more than 30 years, TheCapitol.Net and its predecessor, Congressional Quarterly Executive Conferences, have been training professionals from government, military, business, and NGOs on the dynamics and operations of the legislative and executive branches and how to work with them.

Our training courses, publications, and audio courses include congressional operations, legislative and budget process, communication and advocacy, media and public relations, testifying before Congress, research skills, legislative drafting, critical thinking and writing, and more.

TheCapitol.Net is on the GSA Schedule, 874-4, for custom on-site training. GSA Contract GS02F0192X

TheCapitol.Net is a non-partisan firm.

Select publications from TheCapitol.Net